Brand-New Prince Music Is on the Way

With the one-year anniversary of music icon Prince's untimely passing coming up on April 21, die-hard fans will be excited to learn that they can put "Purple Rain" on pause and commemorate the star by listening to some of his never-before-heard music.


Record label Rogue Music Alliance gave listeners an initial taste of the R&B star's brand new material—recorded and produced from 2006 to 2008 with Ian Boxill and finished after his death—by dropping a preview of the title track "Deliverance." Listen here:

The rest of the posthumous EP will reportedly contain two to six new tracks, with a four-part piece called "Man Opera" comprised of singles "I Am," "Touch Me," "Sunrise Sunset," and "No One Else," plus an extended version of "I Am," and it is scheduled to mark Prince's passing with a special Friday release date.

In a statement, Boxill spoke on the musician's legacy and the new album, saying, "I believe Deliverance is a timely release with everything going on in the world today, and in light of the one-year anniversary of his passing, I hope when people hear Prince singing these songs [that] it will bring comfort to many."

Head to Amazon to preorder "Deliverance" ($5.34; now.

Related Articles