Meet the Designers: LVMH Announces Eight Finalists for 2015 Prize

LVMH Prize 2015 Finalists
Photo: Getty Images (3)

The 26 semi-finalists for the first LVMH Prize were narrowed down to a shortlist of 8 this week, and the competition to crown the next big designer is underway. But this isn't just any design contest—winning the prize not only comes with a €300,000 grant from the luxury goods company and a year-long mentorship with the LVMH team, but an endorsement from some of the biggest names in fashion.

The jury is made up of eight of the most influential designers in the world: Phoebe Philo (Céline), Karl Lagerfeld (Fendi), Marc Jacobs (Marc Jacobs), Raf Simons (Christian Dior), Riccardo Tisci (Givenchy), Nicolas Ghesquière (Louis Vuitton), Carol Lim and Humberto Leon (Kenzo), and J.W Anderson (Loewe).

PHOTOS: The 14 Looks You Need to See from Fashion Month

"The designers who have entered the LVMH Prize 2015 have truly surprised and impressed us with their diversity, their ideas and enthusiasm," said Delphine Arnault, Vice President of Louis Vuitton. "Although very young, they're all extremely talented. I wish them luck. It will be a hard task for our Jury to choose one of them. The level of the competition is so high, I have no doubt we will see some of the semi-finalists again in the years to come."

Check out the list of finalists, who hail from around the globe: Arthur Arbesser by Arthur Arbesser, Coperni by Sébastien Meyer and Arnaud Vaillant, Craig Green by Craig Green, Faustine Steinmetz by Faustine Steinmetz, Jacquemus by Simon Porte Jacquemus, Marques' Almeida by Marta Marques and Paulo Almeida, Off-White c/o Virgil Abloh by Virgil Abloh, and Vetements by Demna Gvasali.

For more information on the designers visit, and check back when the winner is announced on May 22.

Related Articles