Is Me and Earl and the Dying Girl This Year's Boyhood?

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Photo: Christopher Ferguson

Patriot fans weren't the only ones celebrating a big win this weekend. In Park City, Utah, the Sundance Film Festival awards took place, settling the competition amongst the indie films and filmmakers vying for the festival’s top honors. Taking the Grand Jury Prize in the U.S. Dramatic Competition as well as the prestigious Audience Award was the much hyped Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, with stellar cast Thomas Mann, Olivia Cooke, Nick Offerman, Connie Britton, Molly Shannon and newcomer RJ Cyler (above). The film tells the story of high school outcast Greg, who makes hysterical parodies of cinema classics with his best friend, Earl. His cool resolve and wit are challenged when he befriends Rachel, a smart, funny, and brave classmate taking on a fierce battle with leukemia. The resulting story will have you wiping tears of both laughter and sadness from your eyes. We predict it will be a sure-fire hit.

Here are the other Sundance Film Festival 2015 winners announced this weekend. See all the stars from the festival in our Sundance Portrait gallery, and look for even more Sundance coverage in the upcoming April issue of InStyle magazine.

PHOTOS: Portraits of 2015 Sundance Film Festival Stars Nicole Kidman, James Franco, Winona Ryder and More!

Directing AwardThe Witch, Robert EggersCast: Anya Taylor Joy, Ralph Ineson, Kate Dickie, Harvey Scrimshaw, Lucas Dawson, Ellie Grainger.

Waldo Salt Screenwriting AwardThe Stanford Prison ExperimentCast: Billy Crudup, Ezra Miller, Michael Angarano, Tye Sheridan, Johnny Simmons, Olivia Thirlby.

Special Jury Award – Excellence in CinematographyDiary of a Teenage GirlCast: Bel Powley, Alexander Skarsgård, Christopher Meloni, Kristen Wiig.

Special Jury Award – Excellence in EditingDopeCast: Shameik Moore, Tony Revolori, Kiersey Clemons, Blake Anderson, Zoë Kravitz, A$AP Rocky.

Grand Jury Prize – U.S. DocumentaryThe Wolfpack

Grand Jury Prize – World Cinema DramaticSlow WestCast: Kodi Smit-McPhee, Michael Fassbender, Ben Mendelsohn, Caren Pistorius, Rory McCann.

Audience Award – World Cinema DramaticUmrikaCast: Suraj Sharma, Tony Revolori, Smita Tambe, Adil Hussain, Rajesh Tailang, Prateik Babbar.

Special Jury Award – ActingGlasslandCast: Jack Reynor, Toni Collette, Will Poulter, Michael Smiley.

Audience Award – NEXTJames WhiteCast: Chris Abbott, Cynthia Nixon, Scott Mescudi, Makenzie Leigh, David Call.

PHOTOS: See the Biggest Stars of #Sundance2015 Strike a Pose in InStyle’s Portrait Studio

Related Articles