By InStyle Staff
Updated Dec 13, 2018 @ 3:00 pm
Advertisement

We get it — you want to catch every minute of the 2019 Golden Globes. But despite your best intentions, the night arrives and, well, you're not exactly cut out for late nights these days. Don't worry, though, we've got all the details so you can plan your night accordingly.

Here's the short of it: The 76th Golden Globe Awards will take place Jan. 6 at 8 p.m. ET on NBC at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, with Andy Samberg and nominee Sandra Oh sharing the hosting duty. While the official run time of the 2019 Golden Globes has yet to be announced, past years would indicate you can expect the ceremony to be about three hours (that's not counting the two-hour red carpet coverage that typically precedes the event).

Last year, the ceremony ended at 8 p.m. PT, which meant people on the East Coast were heading to bed around 11 p.m. ET. The same three-hour time block was set aside for the 2017 and 2016 Golden Globes broadcast, so it's safe to say the 2019 Golden Globes will be allotted the same time.

Keep in mind: If you decide to call it a night before the ceremony ends and set your DVR to record the rest, you'll want to factor in some wiggle room — these awards shows are notorious for running a bit longer than originally planned.

The red carpet, meanwhile, typically begins at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT) and, in addition to traditional cable, will likely stream live on the Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s (HFPA) Golden Globes Facebook page like it did last year.

And if you want options for viewing everything from the red carpet to the winners, then cable, online streaming and social media coverage options are all available so you can catch the big moments.