Costume Designers Guild Awards Nominations Announced: Scandal, Mad Men, Into the Woods Earn Nods

Costume Designers Guild Awards
Photo: Eric McCandless/ABC via Getty Images; Michael Yarish/AMC; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures/Courtesy Everett Collection

Who are the best dressed stars on TV and in movies this year? We'll find out soon! Today, the Costume Designers Guild announced the nominees for its 17th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards, which is basically the Oscars of the costume design industry. The competition is fierce this year—no surprise there. Gone Girl's Trish Summerville is up for Excellence in Contemporary Film against Birdman, Boyhood, Interstellar, and Wild. Alexandra Byrne of Guardians of the Galaxy, the highest-grossing film of 2014, earned a nod for Excellence in Fantasy Film, but will have to battle against The Hobbit: The Battle of Five Armies, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1, Into the Woods (Colleen Atwood's designs!), and Maleficent for the honor.

In terms of television, Scandal's designer Lyn Paolo is up for Outstanding Contemporary Television Series, along with House of Cards, Ray Donovan, Saturday Night Live, and True Detective. Game of Thrones's Michele Clapton also earned a nod for Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series, but it will be a close competition alongside Boardwalk Empire, The Knick, Mad Men, and Masters of Sex.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in the week leading up to the Oscars, on February 17th at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. See the full list of nominations below.

Excellence in Contemporary FilmBirdman - Albert WolskyBoyhood - Kari PerkinsGone Girl - Trish SummervilleInterstellar - Mary ZophresWild – Melissa Bruning

Excellence in Period FilmThe Grand Budapest Hotel - Milena CanoneroThe Imitation Game - Sammy Sheldon DifferInherent Vice - Mark BridgesSelma - Ruth E. CarterThe Theory of Everything - Steven Noble

Excellence in Fantasy FilmGuardians of the Galaxy - Alexandra ByrneThe Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies - Bob Buck, Ann Maskrey, Richard TaylorThe Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1 - Kurt and BartInto the Woods - Colleen AtwoodMaleficent - Anna B. Sheppard, Jane Clive

Outstanding Contemporary Television SeriesHouse of Cards - Johanna ArganRay Donovan - Christopher LawrenceSaturday Night Live - Tom Broecker, Eric JustianScandal - Lyn PaoloTrue Detective - Jenny Eagan

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television SeriesBoardwalk Empire - John DunnGame of Thrones - Michele ClaptonThe Knick - Ellen MirojnickMad Men - Janie BryantMasters of Sex - Ane Crabtree

Outstanding Made for Television Movie or Mini SeriesAmerican Horror Story: Freak Show - Lou EyrichHoudini - Birgit HutterThe Normal Heart - Daniel OrlandiOlive Kitteridge - Jenny EaganSherlock - Sarah Arthur

Excellence in Commercial Costume DesignArmy ‘Defy Expectations, Villagers’ - Christopher LawrenceDirect TV ‘Less Attractive’, with Rob Lowe - Mindy Le Brock, Jessica AlbertsonDos Equis ‘Most Interesting Man in the World Walks on Fire’ - Julie VogelKia Soul Hamster Commercial Featuring ‘Animals’ - Anette CseriSmirnoff ‘The Mixologist’ - Laura Jean Shannon

Honorary Career Achievement Award - Aggie Guerard Rodgers

2015 Edith Head Award for the Advancement of the Art of Costume Design - Dr. Deborah Nadoolman Landis

Distinguished Collaborator Award - Richard Linklater

Was this page helpful?
Related Articles