By Lara Walsh
Updated Aug 25, 2016 @ 9:30 am
Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj - Lead
Credit: Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic

Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj are the latest performers to join the star-studded lineup for this year's MTV Video Music Awards, which airs this Sunday, Aug. 28, live from New York's Madison Square Garden.

MTV took to Twitter to make its latest announcement to the show lineup, which will feature some of the biggest names in the music biz and beyond.

The previously announced set list includes performances by Britney Spears, who will be dancing her way across the stage at the event for the first time since 2007, Michael Jackson Video Vanguard recipient Rihanna, Future, and Nick Jonas.

Powerhouse duo Grande and Minaj will perform the 23-year-old's track "Side to Side," and something tells us that the talented pair is bound to wow the audience. Grande shared her excitement on Twitter.

MTV also announced that comedians Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele will share hilarious commentary during the event, and that Hollywood stars Alicia Keys, Kim Kardashian West, Sean "Diddy" Combs, Fifth Harmony, Jaden Smith, Rita Ora, Bebe Rexha, Tov Lo, Shameik Moore, and Ansel Elgort will present awards to the recipients during the evening.

While last year's award show had its memorable moments—we are still getting over Kanye West's bid for president - we can't wait to see what the event has in store for us this year!

The MTV Video Music Awards airs live this Sunday, Aug. 28, at 9:00 p.m. ET.