By Anne Vorrasi
Updated Dec 04, 2015 @ 4:00 pm
Each product we feature has been independently selected and reviewed by our editorial team. If you make a purchase using the links included, we may earn commission.
Advertisement
Emily Henderson - LEAD
Credit: Courtesy

Want your home to make a good impression? Emily Henderson does too. As an interior stylist, decorating show TV host, and newly-minted cookbook author, Henderson knows a thing or two about making a home photo shoot-ready. Fortunately, she dishes all of her pro secrets in her vibrant new book, Styled ($20; amazon.com).

It kicks off with a style quiz that helps to decipher your decorating style, from bohemian to modern glam. Then she walks you through each room of the home, giving advice on how to edit your belongings and then of course, use them to style your space. Each zone is given the same amount of attention and no surface or furniture is left unturned.

Here, her six decor essentials for a small, yet often neglected, part of the home: the entryway.

1. Cheap and cheerful blooms
This is a given—it’s something we all know will make us perk up, but a luxury we tend to pass over.

2. A plush rug
Give your rug the touch test before you bring it home. The one for your entryway should feel lavish—almost like a welcome-home hug for your toes.

120315-emilyhenderson4.jpg
Credit: Courtesy

Wool rug, Solo Rugs, $338; solorugs.com

120315-emilyhenderson2.jpg
Credit: Courtesy

Hotel bordered rug, Pottery Barn, from $119; potterybarn.com

120315-emilyhenderson6.jpg
Credit: Courtesy

Moroccan rug, Lulu & Georgia, from $770; luluandgeorgia.com

120315-emilyhenderson3.jpg
Credit: Courtesy

Striped rug, Dash & Albert, from $74; dashandalbert.annieslke.com

3. A Console
Go for storage or just surface, but either way, this piece will serve as your own personal butler (and keep you organized on the way out).

Gold Leaf Collection - Console
Credit: Courtesy

Gold console, Wisteria, $899; wisteria.com

Emily Henderson - 2
Credit: Courtesy

Acrylic console, CB2, $379; cb2.com

Emily Henderson - 3
Credit: Courtesy

Mason console, Crate & Barrel, $849; crateandbarrel.com

Emily Henderson - 4
Credit: Courtesy

Lacquer console, Layla Grayce, $1,719; laylagrayce.com

4. A bench or two side chairs
Taking your shoes off at the door will help make that fresh mopping last a little longer. But guests might overlook your cue if not for a comfy seat near a tidy pile of shoes.

Emily Henderson - 5
Credit: Courtesy

Tufted linen bench, Terrain, $898; shopterrain.com

Emily Henderson - 6
Credit: Courtesy

Oak cutter bench, Horne, $825; shophorne.com

Emily Henderson - 7
Credit: Courtesy

Luxe fur stool, Anthropologie, $348; anthropologie.com

Emily Henderson - 13
Credit: Courtesy

Bloom stool, Industry West, $99; industrywest.com

5. Artwork
Express yourself and create a big first impression. Go for the quick win: something bright and happy. Your mother will be impressed.

Emily Henderson - 8
Credit: Courtesy

Pink fade painting, Malissa Ryder, $85; leifshop.com

Emily Henderson - 9
Credit: Courtesy

Acrylic and thread on canvas, Holly Miller, $2,500; artsy.net

Emily Henderson - 10
Credit: Courtesy

Penthouse Pool Photograph, Slim Aarons, $995; jonathanadler.com

Emily Henderson - 11
Credit: Courtesy

Dawn photograph, Gray Malin, from $199; graymalin.com

6. Chandelier
A chic chandelier is an investment you’ll be happy you made. While the installer’s at it, have him add a dimmer switch so you can create just the right energy to suit your mood.

Emily Henderson - 12
Credit: Courtesy

Acrylic chandelier, West Elm, $299; westelm.com

120315-emilyhenderson7.jpg
Credit: Courtesy

Whittaker chandelier, Cost Plus, $300; worldmarket.com

120315-emilyhenderson1.jpg
Credit: Courtesy

Light globe pendant, Dwell Studio, $525; dwellstudio.com

120315-emilyhenderson5.jpg
Credit: Courtesy

Crystal chandelier, Wayfair, $205; wayfair.com​

“Reprinted from STYLED by Emily Henderson. Copyright ©2015 by Emily Henderson. Photographs copyright © 2015 by David Tsay. Published by Potter Style, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC.”