Janet Jackson - Unbreakable World Tour
Credit: Alexander Tamargo/Getty Images

Each year, six musical acts receive the privilege of entering the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The 2016 nominees have been announced and they include 15 talented performers and groups—with Janet Jackson leading the pack.

In order to be nominated for this year's induction, talents must have released their first single in 1990 or earlier. Jackson's first, self-titled, album dropped in 1982 and her classic "Rhythm Nation 1814" hit stores in 1989. Along with the legendary singer, seven other artists are also on the ballot for the first time: Chaka Khan, The J.B.'s, The Cars, Chicago, Los Lobos, Cheap Trick, and Steve Miller. Returning nominees include The Smiths, Chic, Yes, Deep Purple, N.W.A., Nine Inch Nails, and The Spinners.

More than 800 music industry insiders will place their votes to help determine which of the 15 nominees will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Even fans have a chance to get in on the action: Votes can be placed from now until Dec. 9 on the Rock Hall website. The 2016 inductees will be announced in December.