Clone of Cate Blanchett Lead
Credit: D Dipasupil/FilmMagic

The countdown to awards season continued this morning as Star Wars star John Boyega and Martha Marcy May Marlene darling Elizabeth Olsen announced the nominations for the 2016 Film Independent Spirit Awards at the W Hollywood in Los Angeles. So what can we expect from this year’s star-studded showdown?

2012 and 2015 Film Independent Spirit Award nominee Jessica Chastain has been tapped as this year’s Honorary Chair, meaning we can definitely expect to watch the bombshell stun on the red carpet. “We’re so honored to have Jessica as our Honorary Chair at this year’s Spirit Awards,” Film Independent President Josh Welsh said in a statement. “As a past Spirit Award nominee and someone whose work as an actor and producer embodies the qualities we celebrate at Film Independent, I can’t think of a more suitable Honorary Chair for this exciting celebration of artist-driven filmmaking.”

And while Chastain is one to watch, it’s this year’s nominees that are sparking all the buzz. Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara's Carol, which garnered both stars a nomination for Best Female Lead, are up for five nominations. Meanwhile, Beasts of No Nation also racked up a total five and scored a nomination for Idris Elba as Best Supporting Male. Hollywood newcomer Bel Powley is up against Blanchett and Mara in the Best Female Lead category for her work in The Diary of a Teenage Girl, which is nominated for three awards.

The 31st annual Film Independent Spirit Awards will take place on Saturday, Feb. 27, 2016, in Santa Monica, Calif., and will air live at 5 p.m. ET on IFC. See the full list of nominees below.

Best Feature
Beasts of No Nation


Best First Feature
The Diary of a Teenage Girl
James White
Songs My Brothers Taught Me
Manos Sucias

Best First Screenplay
Jesse Andrews, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Jonas Carpignano, Mediterranea
Emma Donaghue, Room
Marielle Heller, The Diary of a Teenage Girl
John Magary, Story by Russell Harbaugh and Myna Joseph, The Mend

Best Director
Sean Baker, Tangerine
Cary Joji Fukunaga, Beasts of No Nation
Todd Haynes, Carol
Duke Johnson, Charlie Kaufman, Anomalisa
Tom McCarthy, Spotlight
David Robert Mitchell, It Follows

Best Screenplay
Charlie Kaufman, Anomalisa
Donald Marguiles, The End of the Tour
Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer, Spotlight
Phyllis Nagy, Carol
S. Craig Zahler, Bone Tomahawk

John Cassavetes Award
Christmas, Again
Heaven Knows What
Out of My Hand

Best Male Lead
Christopher Abbott, James White
Abraham Atta, Beasts of No Nation
Ben Mendelsohn, Mississippi Grind
Jason Segel, The End of the Tour
Koudous Seihon, Mediterranea

Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett, Carol
Brie Larson, Room
Bel Powley, The Diary of a Teenage Girl
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez, Tangerine
Rooney Mara, Carol

Best Supporting Male
Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation
Michael Shannon, 99 Homes
Paul Dano, Love & Mercy
Richard Jenkins, Bone Tomahawk
Kevin Corrigan, Results

Best Supporting Female
Robin Bartlett, H.
Cynthia Nixon, James White
Marin Ireland, Glass Chin
Jennifer Jason Leigh, Anomalisa
Mya Taylor, Tangerine

Best Cinematography
Cary Joji Fukunaga, Beasts of No Nation
Michael Gioulakis, It Follows
Ed Lachman, Carol
Reed Morano, Meadowland
Joshua James Richards, Songs My Brothers Taught Me

Best International Film
A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence
Embrace of the Serpent
Son of Saul

Best Documentary
Heart of a Dog
The Russian Woodpecker
Best of Enemies
The Look of Silence

Best Editing
Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie, Heaven Knows What
Tom McArdle, Spotlight
Nathan Nugent, Room
Julio C. Perez IV, It Follows
Kristan Sprague, Manos Sucias
Piaget Producers Award
Darren Dean
Mel Eslyn
Rebecca Green and Laura D. Smith
Truer Than Fiction Award
Elizabeth Giamatti and Alex Sichel
Mohammed Ali Naqvi and Hemal Trivedi
Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi

Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award
Robert Machoian and Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck
Felix Thompson
Chloe Zhao

Robert Altman Award
Director, Casting Director, and Ensemble, Spotlight