By Jonathan Borge
Updated Jun 30, 2016 @ 11:30 am
Each product we feature has been independently selected and reviewed by our editorial team. If you make a purchase using the links included, we may earn commission.
Adam Selman
Credit: Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty

Adam Selman and the CFDA have frequently been uttered in the same sentence thanks to the Swarovski-covered, totally sheer dress he designed for 2014 CFDA Fashion Icon Award winner Rihanna. But now the designer has received new and official recognition by the Council of Fashion Designers of America as a 2016 finalist for the organization’s Fashion Fund.

On Wednesday, inaugural 2004 winners Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler welcomed fashion insiders into their brand’s Greene Street boutique in the New York City's Soho neighborhood to announce the 10 lucky contenders for this year’s top prize, one of whom will be announced in New York on Nov. 7 and receive $400,000. Two runners-up will earn $150,000 each.

Soon, the Fund’s selection committee, which includes notables like J.Crew’s Jenna Lyons and Diane von Furstenberg, will begin meeting with each designer to learn about their work and advise them toward the right paths as they prepare for both an Intel-fueled design challenge and a fashion show in L.A. come October.

“It is globally recognized by editors and retailers as a source for new talent and for jumpstarting the careers of important American designers,” CFDA President and CEO Steven Kolb said in a statement.

See all of this year’s finalists below:

Adam Selman

Beckett Fogg and Piotrek Panszczyk of Area

Laura Vassar and Kristopher Brock of Brock Collection

Chloe Gosselin

Ji Oh

Stirling Barrett of Krewe du Optic

Morgan Curtis of Morgan Lane

Maryam and Marjan Malakpour of Newbark

Laurence Chandler and Joshua Cooper of Rochambeau

Chris Stamp of Stampd