7 Outfit-Making Totes to Carry This Summer

Sarah Jessica Parker Tote Bag
Photo: Freddie Baez/startraksphoto; Courtesy Photo (5)

Totes aren't new to the scene by any means, but this season's crop of carryalls are a far cry from ordinary. See: the snazzy yet simple bags seen swinging on the arms of A-listers and style-setters alike.

Jessica Alba, for instance, was snapped heading to work in chic black-and-white separates, but it was her vibrant vermillion tote that pushed her look to the next level. From sweet pastels to playful prints, we found the best celebrity-inspired bags, and shopped out the outfits to match.

Whether you're out running errands or brunching with friends, we got the look for you. Let this be your guide to summer street style with these seven star-inspired outfit-making bags.

01 of 07

For Casual Fridays

Jessica Alba Tote Bag
Lek/INFphoto; Courtesy Photo (4)
  • Got a more creative workspace, like Jessica Alba's The Honest Company? Add a jolt of color to your black-and-white separates (work prints in for a more playful 'tude) with a vibrant vermilion tote. Shop the look below:
  • Tote: Michael Michael Kors, $300; michaelkors.com
  • Top: Dorothy Perkins, $25; dorothyperkins.com
  • Pants: Oasis, $62; oasis.com
  • Pumps: Nine West, $79; ninewest.com
02 of 07

For Running Errands

Camilla Belle Tote Bag
Daniel Robertson/startraksphoto; Courtesy Photo (5)
  • Tote everything you need for the day in a carryall that perfectly accents your outfit's color palette. In Camilla Belle's case-nautical blue. Shop the look below:
  • Tote: Clare Vivier, $380; clarevivier.com
  • Headwrap: Ban.Do, $20; shopbando.com
  • Polo: Uniqlo, $10; uniqlo.com
  • Jeans: Current/Elliott, $325; stylebop.com
  • Flats: Toms, $59; toms.com
03 of 07

For a Laidback Dinner

Karlie Kloss Tote Bag
Madison McGaw/BFAnyc/Sipa USA; Courtesy Photo (4)
  • Take a cue from model Karlie Kloss and sweeten up an all black look with bag washed in pretty pale pink. Shop the look below:
  • Tote: Coach, $298; coach.com
  • Top: Wilfred, $90; aritzia.com
  • Jeans: DL1961, $178; dl1961.com
  • Sandals: Dolce Vita, $109; dolcevita.com
04 of 07

For a Fun Brunch Date

Katie Holmes Tote Bag
Santi/Splash News; Courtesy Photo (5)

Toughen up your look with a tote that boasts a camouflage print and studs. Sustain the aesthetic with distressed jeans, a la Katie Holmes, and offset it with a softer print. Shop the look below:
Tote: Valentino, $1,545; intermixonline.com
Hat: Sole Society, $23; solesociety.com
Top: Zara, $70; zara.com
Jeans: Genetic, $232; geneticdenim.com
Sandals: Loft, $80; loft.com

05 of 07

For the Office

Margot Robbie Tote Bag
Broadimage Newswire
  • The key to a sleek (and sensible!) carryall is a structured shape, like Margot Robbie's. But all work and no play makes for an uninspired outfit, so inject a playful print and a tiny hint of glint. Shop the look below:
  • Tote: Rebecca Minkoff, $255; rebeccaminkoff.com
  • Top: Equipment, $248; equipmentfr.com
  • Pants: French Connection, $130; frenchconnection.com
  • Sandals: Loeffler Randall, $207; loefflerrandall.com
06 of 07

For a Coffee Run

Olivia Palermo Tote Bag
Pacific Coast News; Courtesy Photo (5)
  • Look to a boxy silhouette to instantly elevate a pair of playful overalls (or shortalls). Olivia Palermo did that and more, also accessorizing with cool studded frames and smoking slippers. Shop the look below:
  • Tote: Zara, $100; zara.com
  • Sunglasses: Italia Independent, $247; shopbop.com
  • Top: Alice + Olivia, $176; aliceandolivia.com
  • Shortalls: American Eagle, $40; ae.com
  • Flats: Stubbs amp Wootton for J.Crew, $400; jcrew.com
07 of 07

For School Drop-Offs

Sarah Jessica Parker Tote Bag
Freddie Baez/startraksphoto; Courtesy Photo (5)
  • A slouchy shopper is the perfect add-on to a quick-and-easy (and still chic) ensemble during the early morning dash to get the kids to school on time. Take a style cue from Sarah Jessica Parker who, as a mother of three, has got the drill down pat. Shop the look below:
  • Tote: Baggu, $160; baggu.com
  • Sunglasses: Michael Kors, $126; bergdorfgoodman.com
  • Sweatshirt: Gap, $32; gap.com
  • Jeans: J Brand, $218; net-a-porter.com
  • Flats: Repetto, $259; repetto.com
Was this page helpful?
Related Articles