The Oscars are back on March 27.
Advertisement
Zendaya Oscars
Credit: Photo by Chris Pizzello-Pool/Getty Images

It's that time of year again. The last show of awards season is here this weekend and the Academy Awards are celebrating the best movies of the year — and bringing big names back to the red carpet. Those stars will join writers, directors, cinematographers, and more for the big show.

Benedict Cumberbatch, Kirsten Dunst, and Jesse Plemons star in this year's most-nominated movie, The Power of the Dog, with Dune not far behind. Here's everything you need to know if you're looking to tune in.

When are the 2022 Oscars?

The Oscars will be on Sunday, March 27 at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET. Unlike last year's special event at Los Angeles's Union Station, the show is returning to the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood and Highland.

How long are the 2022 Oscars?

The show is usually three hours long, but this year, the show is getting trimmed down and should be shorter.

93rd Annual Academy Awards
Credit: Photo by Richard Harbaugh/A.M.P.A.S. via Getty Images

How do I watch the 2022 Oscars?

ABC, including abc.com and the ABC app, will air the ceremony this year. For anyone who wants to watch the stream online or doesn't have access to over-the-air broadcasts, the show will air on ABC on YouTube TV, FuboTV, Hulu with Live TV, and DirecTV. 

How do I watch the Oscars red carpet and pre-show?

Before the big show, E! will air celebrity arrivals on the red carpet and recapping this year's nominees starting at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT. Vanessa Hudgens, Terrence J, and designer Brandon Maxwell will host The Oscars Red Carpet Show on ABC starting at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT.

Who is hosting the Oscars this year?

The Oscars haven't had a host since 2018, when Jimmy Kimmel had emcee duties. The 2022 ceremony will bring back a host in a big way: by enlisting three of them. This year's ceremony will feature Wanda Sykes, Amy Schumer, and Regina Hall — and their signature brands of comedy — at the mic.

Who is nominated for an Oscar this year?

For a full list of nominees, click here. This year's acting categories include several historic nominations, including the first nomination of a deaf actor for the Best Supporting Actor category (Troy Kotsur in Coda) and Denzel Washington's 10th Academy Award nomination. He broke his own record to become the most nominated Black actor in Oscar history. First-time nominees include Kristen Stewart, Kirsten Dunst, Jessie Buckley, Aunjanue Ellis, and Ariana DeBose.