Time Inc Digital Studios
InStyle Staff
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:01 pm

Want to nail the athleisure trend? No sweat. Go from a major workout session straight to the streets in these versatile, high-performance pieces.

The Running Jacket

Functional enough to get you through your morning jog, it can also extend the life of your cutest outerwear once the temperature dips.

Why it works (above): For a futuristic spin on sporty, slip the chill-busting jacket under a vibrant bomber. Go big on a primary color and stretchy fabrics to ramp up the tech- textile appeal—this electric-blue pencil skirt fills the bill.

Shop it (above): Wild Soul sunglasses, $135, thewildsoul.com; Adidas Originals by Mary Katrantzou, $300, net-a-porter.com; Jonathan Simkhai, skirt, $135, shopbop.com; Adidas Originals Blue Collection sneakers, $140, adidas.com for stores; Tory  Burch bag, $495, toryburch.com.

Time Inc Digital Studios

Why it works: Ditch the sloppy sweats in favor of neat, body-skimming layers that pack major warmth. Inject a heart-pumping boost of energy into basic black courtesy of abstract camo leggings and confetti-colored sneaks.

Shop It: Happy Plugs earbuds, $30, tillys.com; Polaroid sunglasses, $60, solsticesunglasses.com for stores; Lole sports bra, $42, lolewomen.com; Aether Apparel jacket, $195, aetherapparel.com; Nike fuel band, $149, nike.com; CamelBak bottle, $25, camelbak.com; Vimmia pants, $102, vimmia.com; Sketches sneakers, $85, skechers.com.

RELATED: Just How Far Should We Take the Athleisure Trend?

The Barre Leotard

Let it fuel your prima-ballerina fantasies and then take you back to the reality of an appointment-packed day.

Time Inc Digital Studios

Why it works: Girl it up in pink, but add slouchy black-and-white pants (rolled at the waist, perhaps?) to emulate a dancer's nonchalance. A chunky scarf will keep you toasty—and your muscles limber—pre-class.

Shop it: Skullcandy headphones, $100, skullcandy.com; Cover leotard, $170, shopbop.com; Buji Baja poncho, $96, hatattack.com; Bkt bottle, $30, mybkr.com; Elizabeth and James bag, $445, neimanmarcus.com for stores; Norma Kamali pants, $295, normakamali.com; Ballet Beautiful leg warmers, $90, net-a-porter.com.

RELATED: 10 Fresh Pairs of White Sneakers to Wear Instead of Your Stan Smiths

Time Inc Digital Studios

Why it works: The clingy fit makes this a flattering substitute for a button-up, and it's all the more feminine when paired with a romantic lacy midiskirt. Finish with a tailored coat and structured bag for a look that's soft yet sophisticated.

Shop it: Triwa sunglasses, $175, triwa.com; AYR coat, $750, ayr.com; Cover leotard, $170, shopbop.com; Sea skirt, $395, at Jenna White, 305-669-5940; Massimo Dutti watch, $198, massimodutti.com; Kate Spade New York bag, $328, katespade.com.

The Yoga Pants

With all the comfort and practicality of your favorite denim, these can do both sun salutations and p.m. latte runs.

Time Inc Digital Studios

Why it works: Holding a crow pose can get tiring, but so can wearing those standard-issue black pants. Go for an update in gray with a tapered fit. A trippy sports bra provides an eye-catching reveal when the Bikram temp rises.

Shop it: 3.1 Phillip Lim sweatshirt, $495, 31philliplim.com; Alternative sports bra, $62, alternativeapparel.com; Frends headphones, $199, wearefrends.com; Gaim yoga mat ($30) and sling ($10), gaiam.com; Outdoor Voices leggings, $100, outdoorvoices.com; Bobble bottle, $12, waterbobble.com; Nike foot wraps, $55, modells.com.

Time Inc Digital Studios

Why it works: The trick is to style these as you would any other bottoms for a laid-back date with the girls. Kick up this neutral with a graphic sweater and red clutch, and throw on a long vest if you want to dress it up (and cover your bum).

Shop it: Athleta cropped hoodie, $118, athleta.com; Lululmeon vest, $148, lululemon.com; Être Cécile sweater, $500, modaoperandi.com; Vince pouchette, $495, vince.com; Nooka watch, $169, nooka.com; Outdoor Voices leggings, $100, outdoorvoices.com; y-3 sneakers, $295, y-3.com.

RELATED: Shop the Coziest (and Chicest) Winter AccessoriesThe Tennis Skirt

It may have been tailored for a different kind of love, but this has all the flirty appeal of your go-to Friday-night mini.

Time Inc Digital Studios

Why it works: Banish any snooty-country-club vibes by grounding a preppy white polo with classic navy. Then pile on the high-voltage extras, as in tangerine shades and a matching watch. A bright blue visor ups the ante.

Shop it: Missguided visor, $8, missguidedus.com; Lacoste polo, $145, lacoste.com; Marc by Marc Jacobs sunglasses, $120, nordstrom.com for stores; Rubr watch, $79, rubrwatchnation.com; Nike skirt, $55, nike.com; Babolat racket, $189, babolat.com for stores; New Balance sneakers, $100, newbalance.com; Babolat backpack, $55, babolat.com for stores.

Time Inc Digital Studios

Why it works: Not into flashing so much leg off the court? Introduce a pair of leggings to show your shape with more coverage. Elevate the combo with a hunter green vest and a leather-looking backpack, which feel casual yet luxe.

Shop it: Gents hat, $125, saksfifthavenue.com for stores; Krewe du Optic sunglasses, $180, kreweduoptic.com; Dean Davidson studs, $145, deandavidson.com; Line Dry vest, $385, linedry.com; Rag & Bone sweater, $295, at Rag & Bone, 212-219-2204; Nike skirt, $55, nike.com; By Malene Birger pants, $295, shopburu.com; Sol Sana sandals, $85, nordstrom.com;  ASOS backpack, $67, asos.com.

RELATED: Must-Have Products for Your Workout

The Spinning Shell

A high-octane SoulCycle class deserves a downtown-cool uniform (especially for the brunch refuel afterward).

Time Inc Digital Studios

Why it works: Angular racing stripes conjure up a competitive spirit, and the wine-and-pink palette rivals a gallery-worthy art print. Stash an extra towel in a checkered backpack that's got a youthful, of-the-moment bite.

Shop it: Beats by Dre earbuds, $100, apple.com; Under Armour headband, $12, underarmour.com; Adidas by Stella McCartney tank, $130, stellamccartney.com; Marc by Marc Jacobs backpack, $198, marcjacobs.com for stores; UP24 by Jawbone wristband, $130, jawbone.com; S'well bottle, $25, swellbottle.com; Fabletics capris, $45, fabletics.com; Shimano cycling shoes, $165, soul-cycle.com for stores.

Time Inc Digital Studios

Why it works: Play off the top's colorblock motif and choose a jacket detailed with black-on-black stripes. Quilted silver high-tops push the trendy-edgy envelope, while a taupe leather duffel brings things back down to earth.

Shop it: Carrera sunglasses, $139, solsticesunglasses.com for stores; T by Alexander Wang bomber jacket, $695, alexanderwang.com; Community for Aritizia sweater (tied around waist), $120, aritzia.com; Joe Fresh leggings, $39, joefresh.com; DKNY sneakers, $175, dkny.com for stores; Clare V. duffle bag, $658, clarev.com.

RELATED: Exotic Places to Workout

You May Like