Home & Decorating

The 5 Home Decor Trends That Defined 2015

The 5 Home Decor Trends That Defined 2015
Courtesy
Shop This Post

It was a controversial year in interior design: Marsala was Pantone’s chosen color, Memphis design had a major resurgence and wallpaper became hotter than ever. But not all of 2015’s trends were a point of contention. We saw an uptick in the use of natural materials, the dawn of two new vibrant patterns and there’s officially a new It rug on the scene. Here we’ve rounded up the five hottest décor moments (for you to see and shop) that we hope will stick around well into 2016.

Marble + Metal
This year, marble met its new best friend: metal. Designers paired the luxe stone with brass, copper and gold detailing to create decor accents for every room in the house—ranging from side tables to wall hooks.

Courtesy

Katy Skelton 'Zelda' table, $575; katyskelton.com

Courtesy

World Market desk lamp, $50; worldmarket.com

RELATED: The 6 Most Searched Decor Trends of 2015

Tropical Motifs
Move over succulents and cacti, 2015’s green obsession was of the tropical persuasion. Palms and monsteras found a place in the home in the form of wall art, throw pillows, and even potted versions of the real deal.

Courtesy

Tabula Rasa travel blanket, $395; tabularasa.com

Courtesy

Justina Blakeney 'Aja' wallpaper, $190/roll; hyggeandwest.com

Natural Materials
The design world decided to go au natural this year, opting for materials like cork, raffia and rattan for their interior designs. Expect to see this one continue well into 2016—we don’t see the trend going away anytime soon.

Courtesy

The Citizenry handwoven basket, $85; the-citizenry.com

Courtesy

Ikea cork stool, $49; ikea.com

RELATED: 2016 Desktop Calendars That Are Actually Chic

Painterly Prints
Abstract, brushstroke patterns with an emphasis on fields of color (the more, the better!) were this year’s print of choice. And, the designs weren’t limited to wall art—even rugs and throw pillows got the artistic treatment.

Courtesy

Leif 'Floral Movement' pillow, $85; leifshop.com

Courtesy

Mande 'The Mountains Before Us' print, $190; minted.com

Persian and Turkish Rugs
We’re not staying you should get rid of your Moroccan rugs or anything, but there’s a new hot floor covering in town. Intricately detailed styles inspired by traditional Persian and Turkish rugs were all the rage in 2015.

Courtesy

West Elm distressed arabesque rug, from $249; westelm.com

Courtesy

Jayson Home and Garden vintage Oushak rug, $2095; jaysonhome.com

The Latest in Video

#AskKat: How to Style a Bookcase
See More Videos

More Home & Decorating

See All Latest News

Sponsored Stories


The Latest in Home & Decorating

Loading...
 
Back to Top