Everything You Need to Know About the 2016 Oscars

Everything You Need to Know About the 2016 Oscars
Christopher Polk/Getty Images
Shop This Post

With the 2016 Academy Awards fast approaching (T-minus five days and counting!), many around the country are gearing up to watch Hollywood's biggest night take place. If you don't already have plans for where you're going to view the Oscars, chances are you have a few questions. Fear not—we've rounded up everything you need to know about the awards show, from where you can watch to who's nominated. Keep reading for the low down.

When are the Oscars?
The 2016 Academy Awards are airing live this Sunday, Feb. 28, at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT.

Where can I watch?
Tune in to ABC on your television to catch the Oscars, or live-stream them online at abc.com.

Where can I watch the red carpet?
E!'s red carpet coverage of the Oscars begins at 5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT. You can also livestream the red carpet at eonline.com. If that's not enough, E!'s Countdown to the Red Carpet begins bright and early at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT.

Who is hosting the 2016 Academy Awards?
Comedian Chris Rock will take the stage at the Dolby Theater to host Hollywood's biggest night, and judging by his promos we are in for quite the hilarious treat.

What are the best picture nominees?
The Big Short
Bridge of Spies
Brooklyn
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian
The Revenant
Room
Spotlight

Who is nominated for best actress?
Cate Blanchett, Carol
Brie Larson, Room
Jennifer Lawrence, Joy
Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years
Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn

Who is nominated for best actor?
Bryan Cranston, Trumbo
Matt Damon, The Martian
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant
Michael Fassbender, Steve Jobs
Eddie Redmayne, The Danish Girl

Who is nominated for best supporting actress?
Jennifer Jason Leigh, The Hateful Eight
Rooney Mara, Carol
Rachel McAdams, Spotlight
Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl
Kate Winslet, Steve Jobs

Who is nominated for best supporting actor?
Christian Bale, The Big Short
Tom Hardy, The Revenant
Mark Ruffalo, Spotlight
Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies
Sylvester Stallone, Creed

See the full list of nominees here, plus head over to instyle.com/oscars for everything you need to know about the big show.

The Latest in Video

Jazmne Sullivan and Andra Day Hit the Black Women in Music Red Carpet
See More Videos

More Oscars

See All Latest News

Sponsored Stories


 
Back to Top