LIFESTYLE

6 Entryway Musts from Decorating Expert Emily Henderson

6 Entryway Musts from Decorating Expert Emily Henderson
Courtesy
Shop This Post

Want your home to make a good impression? Emily Henderson does too. As an interior stylist, decorating show TV host, and newly-minted cookbook author, Henderson knows a thing or two about making a home photo shoot-ready. Fortunately, she dishes all of her pro secrets in her vibrant new book, Styled ($20; amazon.com).

RELATED: 10 Home Decor Items Under $100 Every House Needs

It kicks off with a style quiz that helps to decipher your decorating style, from bohemian to modern glam. Then she walks you through each room of the home, giving advice on how to edit your belongings and then of course, use them to style your space. Each zone is given the same amount of attention and no surface or furniture is left unturned.

Here, her six decor essentials for a small, yet often neglected, part of the home: the entryway.

1. Cheap and cheerful blooms
This is a given—it’s something we all know will make us perk up, but a luxury we tend to pass over.

2. A plush rug
Give your rug the touch test before you bring it home. The one for your entryway should feel lavish—almost like a welcome-home hug for your toes.

Courtesy

Wool rug, Solo Rugs, $338; solorugs.com

Courtesy

Hotel bordered rug, Pottery Barn, from $119; potterybarn.com

Courtesy

Moroccan rug, Lulu & Georgia, from $770; luluandgeorgia.com

Courtesy

Striped rug, Dash & Albert, from $74; dashandalbert.annieslke.com

3. A Console
Go for storage or just surface, but either way, this piece will serve as your own personal butler (and keep you organized on the way out).

Courtesy

Gold Leaf Collection - Console

$899

Gold console, Wisteria, $899; wisteria.com

Courtesy

Acrylic console, CB2, $379; cb2.com

Courtesy

Mason console, Crate & Barrel, $849; crateandbarrel.com

Courtesy

Lacquer console, Layla Grayce, $1,719; laylagrayce.com

4. A bench or two side chairs
Taking your shoes off at the door will help make that fresh mopping last a little longer. But guests might overlook your cue if not for a comfy seat near a tidy pile of shoes.

Courtesy

Tufted linen bench, Terrain, $898; shopterrain.com

Courtesy

Oak cutter bench, Horne, $825; shophorne.com

Courtesy

Luxe fur stool, Anthropologie, $348; anthropologie.com

Courtesy

Bloom stool, Industry West, $99; industrywest.com

5. Artwork
Express yourself and create a big first impression. Go for the quick win: something bright and happy. Your mother will be impressed.

Courtesy

Pink fade painting, Malissa Ryder, $85; leifshop.com

Courtesy

Acrylic and thread on canvas, Holly Miller, $2,500; artsy.net

Courtesy

Penthouse Pool Photograph, Slim Aarons, $995; jonathanadler.com

Courtesy

Dawn photograph, Gray Malin, from $199; graymalin.com

6. Chandelier
A chic chandelier is an investment you’ll be happy you made. While the installer’s at it, have him add a dimmer switch so you can create just the right energy to suit your mood.

Courtesy

Acrylic chandelier, West Elm, $299; westelm.com

Courtesy

Whittaker chandelier, Cost Plus, $300; worldmarket.com

Courtesy

Light globe pendant, Dwell Studio, $525; dwellstudio.com

Courtesy

Crystal chandelier, Wayfair, $205; wayfair.com​

RELATED: Check Out Jessica Alba's Daughters' Newly Vamped Bedrooms

“Reprinted from STYLED by Emily Henderson. Copyright ©2015 by Emily Henderson. Photographs copyright © 2015 by David Tsay. Published by Potter Style, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC.”

 
Back to Top